City and County of Swansea



Notice of Meeting

You are invited to attend a Meeting of the

Standards Committee

At: Remotely via Microsoft Teams

On: Friday, 15 October 2021

Time: 10.00 am

Chair: Jill Burgess

Membership:

Councillors: O G James, M B Lewis and L G Thomas

Co-opted Members: Michaela Jones, Mike Lewis and Margaret Williams

Community / Town Council Representative: Philip Crayford

Watch Online: <u>https://bit.ly/3hScVmz</u>

1	Apologies for Absence.	Page No.	
2	Disclosures of Personal and Prejudicial Interests. www.swansea.gov.uk/disclosuresofinterests		
3	Minutes. To approve & sign the Minutes of the previous meeting(s) as a correct record.	1 - 9	
4	Public Services Ombudsman for Wales Annual Report and Letter for 2020/2021.	10 - 163	
5	Standards Committee Annual Report 2020-2021.	164 - 179	
6	Code of Conduct Casebook.	180 - 191	
7	Breach of Code of Conduct - Complaints made to the Public Services Ombudsman for Wales (PSOW).	192 - 193	

8 Workplan 2021-2022. (Verbal)

Next Meeting: Friday, 18 March 2022 at 10.00 am

Huw Erons

Huw Evans Head of Democratic Services Friday, 8 October 2021 Contact: Democratic Services

Councillors Labour: 2

Oliver G James

Mike B Lewis

Councillors Liberal Democrat & Independent Group 1

L Graham Thomas

Independent Members

Name	Term of Office	Name	Term of Office
Jill Burgess *	19.10.2012 to	Michaela Jones	01.10.2017 to
	18.10.2018		30.09.2023
	Re-appointed to		
	18.10.2022		
Philip Crayford *	05.10.2012 to	Mike Lewis	01.10.2017 to
	04.05.2017		30.09.2023
	Re-appointed until		
	next Local		
	Government		
	Elections		
Vacancy		Margaret Williams*	01.04.2015 to
			31.03.2021
			Re-appointed to
			31.03.2025

NOTE:

- 1. * Denotes that the **period of office cannot be extended further**.
- 2. The **term of office for Independent Members** can be for not less than 4 nor more than 6 years. They can be reappointed for one further consecutive term but that term cannot be for more than 4 years.
- 3. **Members of the Local Authority/Community Town Councillors** who are members of the Standards Committee will have a term of office of no more than 4 years or ending at the next ordinary local government election following their election, whichever is the shorter.
- 4. The Standards Committee shall not sit if the Independent Members are outnumbered by Councillors. A Councillor shall remove him/herself from the meeting in order for the business to be transacted.
- 5. Only one Executive Member (except Leader) can sit on Standards Committee.

